You entered the most comprehensive Tennis Grand Slam Online Database
Home | Tournaments | Wimbledon | Gentlemen's Singles


Gentlemen's Singles
„Wimbledon was the nursery of the game; it bred the giants of the past, men who, by exercise of their art, the vigor of their physique, and the force of their personality, inspired countries beyond to accept and pursue the cult of lawn tennis.”
by A. Wallis Myers (Fifty Years of Wimbledon of 1926)


Grass / Outdoor (Except Centre Court during rain and consequently bad light when roof is already in play)


All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) 1877-present

Name of the Tournament

The Championships/Wimbledon


H.R.H. The Prince of Wales K.G.,K.T.,K.P.,G.C.S.I.,G.C.M.G.,G.C.I.E.,G.C.V.O.,I.S.O. (1907-1910)
A.W. Gore (1911-1912)
The Lord Desborough K.C.V.O. (1912-1915)
H. Wilson Fox M.P. (1915-1921)
H.W.W. Wilberforce (1921-1929)
H.R.H. The Prince George K.G.,G.C.M.G.,G.C.V.O. (1929-1934)
H.R.H. The Duke of Kent K.G.,K.T.,G.C.M.G.,G.C.V.O.,P.C. (1934-1942)
H.R.H. The Duchess of Kent C.I.,G.C.V.O.,G.B.E. (1944-1961)
H.R.H. Princess Marina, Duchess of Kent C.I.,G.C.V.O.,G.B.E. (1961-1968)
H.R.H. The Duke of Kent K.G.,G.C.M.G.,G.C.V.O.,A.D.C. (1969-present)